Values and The Bushido Code

The Bushido Code and its values was first masssively popularized by Nitobe Inazo in his book Bushido: The Soul of Japan; but references to them exist as early as more than a thousand years prior.

There are today seven virtues of Bushido (gi-rectitude, yu-courage, jin-benevolence, rei-respect, makato or shin-honesty, meiyo-honor, chugi-loyalty); and three associated virtues (ko-filial piety, chi-wisdom, and tei-care for the aged)

The following brief definitions are from Wiktionary:

RECTITUDE - straightness; rightness of principle or practice; exact conformity to truth or to the rules prescribed for moral conduct

COURAGE - quality of confident character not to be afraid or intimidated easily

BENEVOLENCE - disposition to do good; charitable kindness; altrustic gift or act

RESPECT - attitude of consideration or high regard; good opinion, honor, admiration

HONESTY - to be truthful

HONOR - the objectivication of praisworthiness; to show respect

LOYALTY - unswerving allegiance; faithful; fidelity

FILIAL PIETY - respect owed to ones parents and ancestors

WISDOM - the ability to make decisions based on the combination of knowledge, experience, intuitive understanding


The Bushido Code was popularized in 1899 but references to these values exist as early as a thousand years before.

Back to Values from Bushido Code